Bye bye Phobia

Recently, I received news about the death of a school mate. We weren’t the closest of friends but we were friendly with each other. We were in the same school groups and she was only a year ahead. Sweet girl! This news put me in shock and worst of all triggered this phobia and anxiety I have for death.

This is not the first time I’m losing family, a friend or an acquaintance to death and this incident brought back so many unwanted memories. The stillness, never breathing, never speaking, never aware, forever gone from the earth nature of the dead. The fact that it would be me someday being put in a coffin to be buried, never to be seen again. It sure gives me the chills.

However, I have refused to allow this fear of mine cripple me. When I feel this anxiety creeping in, I try to change the way I think about death so it isn’t so scary. I’ve come to terms with the fact that I am mortal and death is a cycle of life. I’ve also come to understand why I have this fear and channel it into being productive and living a life to be remembered.

I engage myself with things I love to do in order to push away such negative thoughts. Also, considering the fact that death is inevitable, there isn’t anything I can do about it. Why then should I spend my entire time worrying when I can be making the most out of life?

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself – Franklin Roosevelt

We all have something that scares us about life. It could be from past incidents or traumas or learned responses from early life and that is okay. That’s what makes us human. However, it is important to remember not to allow these fears dictate your happiness and hinder you from making the most out of life.

Motivate yourself to break free from the shackles of fear, if you need to, ask for help, try to be a better person and most importantly, motivate yourself to be happy. Think happy thoughts, spend time with friends, read a book, play some music, anything to keep those negative thoughts away.

I have learned and am still learning to enjoy life and all it brings. I believe we can overcome our fears. All we need is love, motivation, determination and support. In the end we can only do so much so why spend time living in fear? Tell that fear a good ol’ bye bye.

As the saying goes, you only live once.

With love,

ChenahPens

7 responses to “Bye bye Phobia”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started